Wednesday, March 14, 2012

The Quintessential Shot Capturing Balance in a Race Car

This is one of my favorite race car shots. It's Wild. Historic. Epic. Insanely Cool! In mind, this is the quintessential shot capturing balance in a race car. The 3.0 CSL looks and feels as if it just floats everywhere!!! 100 years down the road, even when cars really do fly, people will still be looking at this shot in awe.

Hans Stuck landing his BMW 3.0 CSL at Flugplatz on his way to 
pole position in the ETCC round at the old Nurburgring in 1974.

If you stare at the picture long enough, you will start feeling that the car can fly.

The BMW New Six CS (E9 chassis) was built for BMW by Karmann from 1968 to 1975. The 3.0 CSL homologation special was one of the most successful race cars, especially in European Touring Car Championship and the Deutsche Rennsport Meisterschaft. This helped establish BMW on the race map. The 3.0 CSL was built from the ground up to make the car eligible for racing in the European Touring Car Championship. The "L" in the designation Stands for "leicht" (light), unlike in other BMW designations, where it meant "lang" (long). The 3.0 CSL came with an aerodynamic package including a large air dam, short fins running along the front fenders, a spoiler above and behind the trailing edge of the roof, and a tall rear wing. Interestingly, the rear wings were not installed at the factory, but were left in the boot for installation after purchase because the wings were illegal for use on German roads. The full aero package earned the nickname "Batmobile" for the race CSLs.

The 3.0 CSL is one of the all-time most dominant race cars. In 1973, Toine Hezemans won the European Touring Car Championship in a 3.0CSL and co-drove a 3.0CSL with Dieter Quester to a class victory at Le Mans. Hezemans and Quester had driven to second place at the 1973 German Touring Car Grand Prix at NĂ¼rburgring, being beaten only by Chris Amon and Hans-Joachim Stuck in another 3.0CSL. The 3.0 CSLs would win every European Touring Car Championship from 1975 to 1979!